Balancing health and work

Probably our primordial mission is to balance things and be the go-between in everything. Our mindset is totally focused on work and our carefully developed lives, personal issues, feelings, socializing, networking…and where is the health? The last and not the least (I hope).
Let’s face it, we don’t have time to be ill. There is always a hot potato in the line, burning with impatience and pangs of stress…Of not delivering on time, of not having time, of not being on time. And because our mythologies lack Omoikane, a deity capable of making decisions that we would make if we only had the time, our decisions with a view to our health are always poor or nonexistent.
Unfortunately I have learned of it the hard way. And something that I have also learned the hard way is that you cannot work, develop your business, and ultimately make money, if you are ill.
Moreover I have learned that the invisible stress can create visible results in one’s body and general state of health. Health must be preserved before having to find a remedy.

We all live stressful lives, so I refrain from giving me as an example. Only the result is in “me”.
I tackle stress by exercise. This is my way, and it works, even if it means juggling with my schedule and getting up at 6 or so.
Lately I have come across an outrageous statement: “I would prefer my daughters to start smoking than cycling.” The idea behind is that it is easier to quit smoking than cycling. I am the living proof. Also cycling can become dangerous in the big city. It is and again I am the living proof as I carry scars and various problems in the knees.

In order to follow my timeline, after I quit smoking I started roller-skating (all over again) and my life changed along with the general state of my knees and ankles. Then I bought my bike and my life changed all over again. The knees remained the same – in shambles. Yes, it can be tricky but what is easy and risk-free? Nothing. Not even eating is risk-free or… sleeping. There is always a hidden danger. Nightmares?

Talking about eating and health. Another measure for preserving health is nourishment. Which for me includes the almost total absence of processed sugar. As when at family functions I cannot deny cakes and sweets as it is in our culture (Romanian) not to refuse. Something that I have never understood, especially that I am fussy, but always respected.

Quitting sugar was very difficult, even if I don’t have a sweet tooth. I managed not to feel anything in the presence of chocolate during the course of a (very long) year. It all started because I wanted to lose a few pounds but feeling better I decided to go on. And when I am “force-fed” sweets by friends or family, the sensation is strange and uncomfortable. My tastes have changed. With a view to sweets another diet buster is my lousy low blood pressure which in combination with exertion can put me in hypoglycemia. So…

I have kept all diets there are and I am left with heaps of knowledge. Here’s a piece: losing weight is the sum of dieting and exercising on a regular basis. And to conclude:

A sport routine is the most important thing and it keeps me happy and tired and rested as insomnia is no longer an issue. Dieting is the second and quitting sugar bettered my complexion, too. Feeling hungry now and then is (just) fine!

A positive outlook on everything is the (FIRST) third. From this point of view I am extraordinarily lucky as I am made of positivism and happiness. Nonetheless I have had my dark moments and I respect them as they forced me to create solutions and decisions. And I have my dome (which I depicted HERE). When negativity hits I can always go there and find a sprinkle of joy. In the least.

rob-gonsalves-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I Illustrate with art for the season by Rob Gonsalves.

She is primarily a teacher of English. Also her mind is lured by goodies like finance, economics, interest rates, the stock market, as she has a hankering for how the money is made. Nevertheless she is a dreamer on a cloud...As dreams cost nothing... In ordinary days she is a word-weaver for everything and everything that breathes. In the best of days she just follows the seasons by means of bike, skis, or roller-skates. She is grateful to all colors of the world and to people who read, laugh, smile and drop a line here, or on her email.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Biking else matters, Blog de companie, Business, Castle of sport

Your words are stardust, they shine and sparkle in my heart. Thank you!

Thank-you for stopping by!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 393 other followers

Are you fluent in choosing your English?
Call: +40722.841.053 contact@cursinengleza.ro.
My community
